Sometimes you just gotta sit and stare (version 2)

Often, Max just sits and stares.

I’ve noticed it more lately because we have both been stuck at home more often with all the snow and ice.

IMG_2363

The first version of this observation had to do with a response to the overwhelming amount of tragic events occurring in the world. That is unfortunately still very true, but I see another element to Max’s sitting and staring now.

When I join Max, I find the practice to be quite peaceful and healing. When we sit and stare we let our minds wander and rest, something that happens far too infrequently in my busy life.

I am often coming and going rapidly for work or personal matters and it never seems to stop. There is never a reprieve or a perfect time to get away from it all.

Don’t get me wrong, I like my job and I like to be busy, and I even get restless very very easily. But staying on the move is tiresome especially when event bleeds into event and there is no time for a breather in between.

IMG_2473

Then, the snow and ice fell and I was stuck in the apartment for several days the past two weeks. I still had plenty to do, but I also had a little more time to observe Max and see the benefits of a life at rest.

And I joined him in his sitting and staring and let my mind relax. In fact, I’ve been able to intentionally set some time aside everyday to push aside responsibilities and duties and just sit and stare and be.

IMG_2477

Max has taught me that sometimes I just have to sit and stare. Sometimes my mind needs a break. Sometimes my mind needs the freedom to explore things in new ways. And most of the time that does not naturally happen.

Max has taught me that I need to allow myself the time to wander through thoughts and experience the peacefulness of the moment.

Sometimes I have to buckle down and get things done, but that is surprisingly much easier than taking time to sit and not worry about things. Sometimes I need to sit back and know that things will be ok and that I am not defined by all the things I get done.

IMG_2654

And sometimes I need just to be present, resting with my friend.

So thank you Max for sitting and staring with me. Thank you for teaching me the importance of resting my mind and wandering through peacefulness.

Leave a Reply

