Grounded

Max is a dreamer, I’m sure of it. I see how he peers out into the distance, dreaming up ways in which he can finally catch that rabbit taunting him.

IMG_0072

But Max is also very grounded. He doesn’t spend long standing there before he is off again.  

I, on the other hand, get lost in dreams of what could be. And this dreaming is heightened even more as I venture out with Max. 

Now that the weather is nicer I like to take longer walks with Max.  And he seems to enjoy it too.  In being outside more, I realize how captivated I can become of things in nature around me.

During the day time, Max and I share a fascination with birds. I think he usually just wants to chase them, while I stare and marvel at how they function and how cool it would be to be a bird, flying high in the sky.

At night, I often look at the stars. I can see more of them where I live now compared to the past 7 years, and though I know I still can’t see even a small fraction of the depth of beauty of the night sky, it always captivates me.  I don’t think Max gets quite as much out of the stars, but he enjoys being with me.

IMG_0830

As I stare out into the sky, I begin to think again of how cool it would be to be out there, exploring the infinity of space and time, to be lifted out of this world, this reality, and jump right into something totally unknown…geronimo!

And as I get stuck desiring to enter into those experiences of flight or space, Max often tugs me to move along, pulling me out of my reverie.  He keeps my feet on the ground, wherever my head may be.

In doing so, Max has taught me a valuable lesson about dreaming. I am still a fan of getting lost in the wonder of fantastical reverie, but there’s something to be said about staying grounded.

IMG_0209

Max has taught me that as important as such dreaming is, perhaps it is more meaningful to appreciate my reality and allow myself to stop and enjoy space and nature just as it is from my perspective.

For there is nothing unfantastical about what I actually experience everyday.  Space is still a beautiful, unbelievable thing witnessed right from where I stand as I stop to admire it on a nightly walk.  Birds are still incredible and worth a certain degree of amazement even without imagining that I am flying with them.

So thank you Max for dreaming with me and for teaching me that grounded dreams are no less beautiful. Thank you for teaching me to stop and see the wondrous world around me as it really exists, without an escape to made up experiences.

Leave a Reply

